Third time is the charm.

I went running on Saturday on whim.  No music.  No water bottle.  Just me and strange desire to run.  The next day I signed up for the half marathon.  What was I thinking?

Last year, I ran 2 half marathons.  Both were in Columbus.  The first was the Spirit of Columbus Half…in August.  I finished at 2:36 and I almost passed out at the finish line (and in the shower).  I trained since April or May but not religiously to the schedule so I think that was a big downfall.  The second was the Nationwide Insurance Columbus Half Marathon in October.  I finished at 2:26.  That was better, if only for the cooler weather.  I knocked 10 minutes off my first time.  Now I find myself training again.  This time by myself as my sister-in-law thinks I’m crazy.  This time I swear I’m going to follow the training plan.  I’m using the Fitness Magazine 8 week training guide so I am a few weeks ahead of schedule.  When I went running on Saturday, I mapped my run after I got home and found out that I only completed a mile and a half.  This is going to be a long training but my only goal is to finish….and not poop my pants.

I sweat out enough salt for a batch of soft pretzels.

3 thoughts on “Third time is the charm.

  1. Pingback: You’re Born, You’re 1,You’re 5, You’re 9… You’re Engaged to be Married! « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

Leave a Reply

