Running with Puppies

Last night may have very well been a rest day.  I didn’t get home from work until about 6:30 and James said he ate too much to go running.  I grabbed a few pretzels and sat on the couch for awhile and watched tv.  I don’t know what came over me but about 30 minutes later I figured I’ll just go for a run by myself, maybe I’ll take Penny.

We only went about 2 miles total.  I know she’s only 4 1/2 months old but she really likes to jog.  One of the best tips about running with a dog is to make sure they do their business before you really get running.  James said Penny already went in the backyard when he got home so I figured she wouldn’t need to go again.  She peed during our warm up and then we picked up the pace. About 4 blocks into the run, Penny did exactly what I was afraid would happen.  Of course I picked it up (I don’t want to be that neighbor) but I had to hold onto it for about 10 minutes until I found a trash can.  It was a really awkward addition to our little running club.  One mile into our run, Penny started to slow down.  I wasn’t going to force her into doing something she didn’t want to do so we took it easy going up a big hill and Penny took a lot of rest breaks.

 

Oh Marmaduke.

So two miles done, easy pace.  I can’t wait for Penny to get a little bit older, then we can go on longer runs.  The quarter marathon is in a little over 3 weeks.  I hope we’re ready!

 

Leave a Reply

